SUN SENTINEL – OPINION
If Florida drivers don’t get a replacement for the state’s overpriced no-fault auto insurance system this year, it will be Tallahassee’s fault.
Bills in the House and Senate would abolish the nearly five-decades-old requirement to purchase $10,000 worth of Personal Injury Protection as part of the policy. Five years ago, the Legislature tried to reform this outdated system. Now, it’s time to end it — with guidance.
Legislators had good intentions when they adopted no-fault in 1971. The goal was quick compensation for people injured in minor accidents, thus keeping paycheck-to-paycheck employees from needing welfare, and to limit the number of lawsuits. By cutting litigation, the theory went, premiums would fall, and even policyholders without lawyers would get fair recovery.
Unfortunately, bad Florida overcame good government. Fraudsters bilked the system, notably by faking accidents and billing insurers for just up to the $10,000 limit. Lawyers still elbowed their way into the system. Florida remains just one of 12 no-fault states.